Clinical Scholars program

TwitterYou TubeLinked In
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Program Overview
National Program Office
RWJF/VA Collaboration
National Advisory Committee
News & Updates
Health Policy Podcasts
Program Results Report
Photo Gallery
About RWJF

National Advisory Committee

L.D. Britt, M.D., M.P.H.

President, American C ollege of Surgeons
President, EVMS Health Services
Professor and Chairman, Department of Surgery
Eastern Virginia Medical School

Dr. L. D. Britt, a proud native of Suffolk, Virginia, has strong southern roots and is the product of the public school system.  He attended the University of Virginia and was named to the Dean’s List each of the eight semesters.  He received his Baccalaureate of Arts with Distinction.  Dr. L. D. Britt, a graduate of Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Public Health, is the Brickhouse Professor and Chairman of the Department of Surgery at Eastern Virginia Medical School.  He is the author of over 170 scientific publications.  In addition to being a reviewer for the New England Journal of Medicine, he serves on numerous editorial boards, including, the Annals of Surgery, Archives of Surgery, Journal of the American College of Surgeons, the American Journal of Surgery (Associate Editor), Surgery, the Journal of Trauma, Shock, Journal of Surgical Education, the American Surgeon and others.  Dr. Britt, a member of Alpha Omega Alpha, is the recipient of the nation’s highest teaching award in medicine – the Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teaching Award, which is given by the AAMC in conjunction with AOA.  He was honored by the Association of Surgical Education with its lifetime achievement award – the Distinguished Educator Award – given annually to one person, considered by his peers, to be a true master.  Over 120 institutions throughout the world have invited him to be their distinguished visiting professor.  Dr. Britt is a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons.  He is the past President of the Society of Surgical Chairs and the past Chairman of the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Surgery.  Also, Dr. Britt is Secretary of the Southern Surgical Association, the Recorder/Program Chair for the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma, President of the Southeastern Surgical Congress, President of the Halsted Society, and Vice-Chairman of the Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons.  He was recently elected Director of the American Board of Surgery and was also appointed to the Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar Program National Advisory Committee.  The National Library of Medicine of the National Institutes of Medicine (in collaboration with the Reginald F. Lewis Museum of Maryland African American History and Culture) recently featured Dr. Britt for his contributions to academic surgery.  President George W. Bush recognized Dr. Britt’s leadership role in medicine and nominated him to the Board of Regents of the Uniformed Services University (confirmed by the United States Senate).  At the end of his tenure, Dr. Britt was awarded the coveted Distinguished Service Medal.  An active participant in the community, Dr. Britt has received numerous awards for public service. 

< Back to National Advisory Commitee Main Page

About the Program Program Sites The Scholars Clinical Scholars Directory Contact Us

Copyright 2014 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars Program

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation