Clinical Scholars program

TwitterYou TubeLinked In
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Program Overview
National Program Office
RWJF/VA Collaboration
National Advisory Committee
News & Updates
Grantee Results Report
Photo Gallery
About RWJF
Recruitment Resources

Press Release

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars named for 2009-2011

Chapel Hill – July 25, 2008 -  The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Clinical Scholars program today announced the selection of 29 new Clinical Scholars who will begin their prestigious two-year fellowships in July 2009. 

The new RWJF Clinical Scholars are outstanding young physicians who were selected competitively from applicants enrolled in medical and surgical residencies across the United States. This training program, established in 1969 and supported by the RWJF since 1972, is one of the oldest and most prestigious fellowships awarded to physicians.

A national advisory committee chaired by Dr. David Stevens at Dartmouth Medical School selected the new Clinical Scholars. In addition to the support provided by the RWJF Clinical Scholars Program, the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs will support eight Clinical Scholars and the American College of Surgeons will support one Clinical Scholar.

Training for each new scholar will occur at one of four universities: Yale University, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Michigan, or the University of California, Los Angeles. The new Clinical Scholars will spend two-to-three years examining the delivery, impact and organization of health care and be prepared to become leaders in American medicine.  They will join a distinguished group of over 1,100 alumni who include prominent leaders of public and private agencies at the state and national levels, seven medical school deans, 28 Institute of Medicine members, medical school department chairs in more than 50 medical school departments and numerous medical school professors.

The 29 new Clinical Scholars completed their undergraduate education at 21 different universities and 22 different medical schools.  The largest medical specialty group was internal medicine, with emergency medicine, pediatrics and surgery the next most represented specialists.  A total of 11 medical specialties are included in this year’s class.  The names of the 2009-2011 Clinical Scholars, their undergraduate and medical school affiliations and their residencies are listed in the table below.

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation focuses on the pressing health and health care issues facing our country. As the nation’s largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to improving the quality of the health and health care of all Americans, the Foundation works with a diverse group of organizations and individuals to identify solutions and achieve comprehensive, meaningful, and timely change. For more than 35 years, the Foundation has brought experience, commitment, and a rigorous, balanced approach to the problems that affect the health and health care of those it serves. When it comes to helping Americans lead healthier lives and get the care they need, the Foundation expects to make a difference in your lifetime.

Contact:  Kristin Siebenaler, M.P.A., RWJF Clinical Scholars program deputy director

About the Program Program Sites The Scholars Clinical Scholars Directory Contact Us

Copyright 2014 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars Program

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation